The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a statutory framework which all early years settings will adhere to and it covers seven core areas of learning which are categorised as prime and specific areas.

The three prime areas are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language


The four specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understand the World
  • Expressive Arts and Designs

The three prime areas of learning must be developed in order for the specific areas of learning to be achieved.

Weekly observations are carried out by your child’s key person to assess their development in line with this framework and activities are then planned personally for your child following these observations.

Your child’s progress is ongoing and tracked against the EYFS and areas of development are monitored and encouraged.

You can see our weekly planning displayed on the planning board. You are encouraged to contribute to your child’s learning by sharing information with their key person.

More information on the EYFS can be found at www.foundationyears.org.uk